Scarboro Surf Life Saving Club Perpetual Trophies

R J Elliott Trophy

I am not quite sure if Robert John Elliott first presented this trophy or if it was named in his honour. Robert John Elliott (aka Pop) and his son Raymond Elliott were founding members of Scarboro Surf Life Saving Club and were both made Life Members 12 years later in 1940. Presently the event is held over 2 days and is conducted in 2 heats, being a 400m swim and an 800m swim with the winner accumulating the most points over both races.

The first recorded winner and place getters on the current trophy from 1961 are 1st Kevin Clarke, 2nd Peter Bermingham and 3rd John Begley.

Kikiros Marathon

The Kikiros Marathon Memorial Trophy was named after Andrew Kikiros, who died attempting to save a swimmer at Esperance beach. The trophy was donated in his honour by his family who were shop owners on the Scarborough Esplanade and were supporters of the Scarboro Surf Life Saving Club. This event has been held annually for over 70 years and comprises a swim around the bouys and a run to Triggs and back.

McGovern Marathon

This trophy was donated by a Scarborough businessman.

The event consists of a swim around the bouys, a 200 metre wade at waist depth and a run to the Floreat drain on the soft sand and back. This course has been altered many times over the years as the beach front has been developed.

Jack Maloney Memorial Trophy

This trophy was presented by Life Member John Maloney (Jack). It is a toilet seat and Jack (always a comedian) presented it with his motto “We will not be sat upon”. It was originally run as a 400 metre surf race, but since his passing it is now presented in his memory as a surf race around the bouys and is run in conjunction with the annual reunion breakfast and only open to members over 30 years of age.

Russell Lyons Perpetual Trophy

This trophy was presented by Life Member John Wright in memory of Russell Lyons who tragically lost his life in a motor vehicle accident. Russell was a talented all-round surf competitor.

The trophy is presented to the senior member who has gained the most aggregate points for the intraclub surf race and sprint events.

The Keith and Kath Brown Perpetual Trophy

This trophy was presented by Keith and Kath Brown to U/19 (originally (U/18 years) aggregate points score for intraclub surf race and sprint events.

Keith was the founder of the Scarboro Polar Bear and Triggs Blue Hole Clubs.

Dan White 2000m Swim Perpetual Trophy

This trophy was named in honour of Dan White OAM, Life Member Scarboro SLSC, State Centre and Australia and a long time serving president of Scarboro and member of the SLS Hall of Fame. It is a 2000 metre handicapped surf Race.

Wallace 1000m Swim Perpetual Trophy

This trophy was named after a long -time sponsor of the Scarboro SLSC who owned a jewellers shop in Perth. It is a 1000m surf Race.

All these events are held during the summer surf season.

Thanks to our Sponsors

Supporters of Scarboro SLSC